Start-up Weekend Moldova – the 6th edition

18.11.2014 tagged as

From 14 to 16 November another Startup Weekend is going to take place in Moldova!

The event, which has already become familiar for young IT entrepreneurs, once again attracted the most proactive, ambitious and talented young people from Moldova. Why do they gather?

1460245_392697427500165_34441731_n

10365459_594529730651856_4355323869319648989_o

Firstly, to test the viability of their online business ideas. Secondly, to assemble a team and try to make their first working prototype in 54 hours using whatever tools are available (to prove by deeds that their project is great). Thirdly, to get valuable advice from mentors, who know this business inside out. And fourthly, to make useful and pleasant acquaintances as such events are visited by startuppers from other countries.

Startup-weekend-2

The sixth “startup weekend” can rightly be considered the most international event of this kind, since it gathered representatives of 10 countries! Some of them came not only as mentors, but also as participants.

On the opening day, November 14, more than a hundred young startuppers gathered at Ginta Latina. 30 ideas were pitched, but only 10 of them entered the second round. The participants assembled teams and worked on their projects for the next 54 hours with the support of mentors. During the following day the teams worked under the supervision of experienced mentors, who were always ready to point out some common pitfalls and explain how to avoid them.

Startup-weekend-4

Despite the fact that after pitching only 10 ideas were selected for further development, 17 teams worked on their ideas on Saturday! They all prepared working prototypes of their projects before the deadline and presented them to the jury on Sunday evening.

Startup-weekend-11

Third place in the startup competition was awarded to the team with the project “Hello Career” – an online resource that will allow users to create a CV for a particular job by answering a number pf questions. The organizers prepared the following gifts for the winners: $ 1,000 from the company Simpals Garage and 10,000 lei from the company Orange for further promotion of the project, and $ 250 from the company Granat for digital marketing.

3

Second place went to the team that presented the project “Optimus Flight”– an interesting application that will allow people from different countries at minimal cost to determine the most convenient flight times and ticket prices so that people could meet each other:) Silver medalists received $ 2,000 from Simpals Garage and 15,000 lei from Orange for further promotion of the project, as well as $ 350 from the company Granat for digital marketing.

2

And finally, the first place! The winner of the sixth SWM was the team with the project “Yum” – a mobile application for those who appreciate their time and want to spend it in a restaurant for the maximum benefit. This app will allow you to choose the nearest restaurant based on your preferences. The winners received the main prizes: $ 3,000 from the event’s partner – the company Simpals Garage, 20,000 lei from Orange and $ 500 from the company Granat!

1

Our congratulations to the winners! All the teams received free software valid for three years and technical support from Microsoft Bizpark. Three winning teams got a chance to participate in the international event Global StartUp Battle. They also received medals from Google. We wish the teams to release their applications as soon as possible and set a good example for the following participants of SWM.

The sixth Startup Weekend was supported by USAIDCEEDII, Orange Moldova, ATIC, Fiware and, of course, the business incubator Simpals Garage.

Join the startup world, present your projects and, perhaps, you will turn the world upside down!! Don’t forget, the most brilliant ideas start life on a napkin or in the garage 🙂

SIMPALS 1999 - 2020

Стартап Уикенд — шестой выпуск

18.11.2014 tagged as ,

С 14 по 16 ноября в Молдове прошел очередной Startup Weekend!

Ставшее уже таким привычным мероприятие для молодых предпринимателей в IT сфере в очередной раз собрало самых инициативных, амбициозных и талантливых ребят из Молдовы. Для чего они собираются?

1460245_392697427500165_34441731_n

10365459_594529730651856_4355323869319648989_o

Во-первых, чтобы проверить на жизнеспособность свою идею онлайн бизнеса. Во-вторых, собрать команду и за 54 часа попробовать “на коленке” сделать первый рабочий прототип (чтобы не словами, а делом доказать, что проект замечательный). В-третьих, получить ценные рекомендации менторов, людей, которые в этом деле “собаку съели”. Ну а в-четвертых, чтобы завести полезные и приятные знакомства, ведь, как правило, подобные мероприятия посещают стартаперы из других стран.

Startup-weekend-2

Шестой “стартап уикенд” по праву можно считать самым интернациональным, ведь он сумел собрать в своих стенах представителей 10 стран! Некоторые из них приехали не только в качестве менторов, но и для участия.
В день открытия, 14 ноября, более сотни молодых стартаперов собрались в стенах Ginta Latina. Из 30 представленных идей во второй тур прошли только 10. Ребята собрали команды, и в течение следующих 54-х часов работали при поддержке менторов над проектом, которые всегда готовы указать на некоторые “подводные камни” и объяснить, как их избежать.

Startup-weekend-4

Несмотря на то, что по результатам питчинга (презентации идей) в разработку прошли всего 10, в субботу в стенах Ginta Latina над своими идеями трудились 17 команд! Все они успели подготовить к дедлайну рабочий прототип своего проекта, который представили строгому жюри в вечер воскресенья.

Startup-weekend-11

Третье место на конкурсе стартапов заняла команда с проектом “Hello Career” — ресурс, который позволит пользователю, отвечая на определенные вопросы, создать CV, которое подойдет для конкретной вакансии. Организаторы предусмотрели подарки для победителей: 1000$ от компании Simpals Garage, 10 000 леев и модем Orange Domino с бесплатным подключением и абонементом на 3 месяца от компании Orange Moldova на дальнейшую раскрутку проекта и 250$ от компании Granat на digital marketing.

3

Второе место досталось команде, которая представила проект “Optimus Flight” — интересное приложение, которое позволит людям из разных стран с минимальными затратами высчитать наиболее удобное время и стоимость билетов, чтобы встретиться 🙂 Для “серебра” партнеры предусмотрели следующие подарки: 2000$ от компании Simpals Garage, 15 000 леев и модем Orange Domino с бесплатным подключением и абонементом на 3 месяца от компании Orange на дальнейшую раскрутку проекта, а также 350$ от компании Granat на digital marketing.

2

И, наконец, первое место! А победителями VI SWM стала команда с проектом “Yum” — мобильное приложение для тех, кто ценит свое время и хочет с максимальной пользой провести его в заведении. Приложение позволит вам подобрать ближайший ресторан, основываясь на ваших предпочтениях. “Золото” шестого выпуска SWM забрали главные призы: 3000$ от партнера проекта — компании Simpals Garage, 20 000 леев и модем Orange Domino с бесплатным подключением и абонементом на 3 месяца от компании Orange и 500$ от компании Granat!

1

Поздравляем победителей! Все участвовавшие команды получили три года бесплатного софта, техподдержку от Microsoft Bizpark. Три команды победителей получили шанс участвовать в международном эвенте Global StartUp Battle, а также команды-победители получили медали от Google. Желаем командам поскорее запустить рабочую версию приложения, и стать примером для следующих участников SWM.

Шестой Stratup Weekend прошел при поддержке USAIDCEEDII, компании Orange Moldova, ATIC, Fiware и, конечно же, бизнес-инкубатора Simpals Garage.

Вливайтесь в мир стартапов, участвуйте со своими проектами, и, возможно, мир перевернется!! Не забывайте, самые гениальные проекты зарождаются вот так вот, “на коленке” или же “в гараже” 🙂

SIMPALS 1999 - 2021